Hello world!

As my first post, I guess I’d better start by introducing myself a bit and sharing what’s going on in my life at the moment. I’m 22 and in a Masters program to get certified to teach. I have struggled with anxiety for as long as I can remember, although it wasn’t until fairly recently that I acknowledged it as such. I have yet to seek a formal diagnosis because at this point, I don’t think it is severe enough for me to need medication, but I’m aware that I will eventually need to talk to someone about it to prevent it from getting worse. I need to come to terms with it myself and find the courage to talk to my family about it before taking the next step. Currently, I am able to manage it myself through a combination of healthy eating, exercise, supplements, mindfulness and breathing techniques.

I am an introvert, which means that I spend a lot of nights at home alone, unwinding after a long week of all day interaction at work or school. I have some wonderful friends that mean the world to me, but most of them don’t live in the same city as me or work on opposite schedules, so I don’t see them as often as I would like. I’m currently seeing a guy that I went to high school with and then drifted apart from until we recently started talking again, and he makes me smile, but I’m a commitment phobe and I’m terrified of what this is becoming.

Lastly, I’m a quote junkie, so I’m going to end this post with a few of my favourites, some words and images that have gotten me through some rough times and given me the strength to continue.

yousayitagain worstmistake worthit worry optional nottheend nothingispermanent goodvsevilimpossibletolivewithoutfailing  farbetterthings dontstop doesntmatter courage constantchange betterandworse beallthere survivalsecret

Leave a Reply

