Sometimes, you gotta make mistakes.

I’ve been watching a lot of Netflix lately because it’s much easier to spend my evenings thinking about other people’s problems than my own. I just finished the first season of How I Met Your Mother and although I’ve seen the show before, I never got around to watching the last couple seasons and I felt like I needed a refresher before just jumping to the much talked about finale.

Anyway, Lily is not my favourite character most of the time, but in one episode, she talks about having to do something for herself, something that might hurt other people, and her take on the issue really got to me:

I know it’s a mistake, but there are certain things in life where you know it’s a mistake but you don’t really know it’s a mistake because the only way to really know it’s a mistake is to make the mistake and look back and say ‘yep, that was a mistake.’ So really, the bigger mistake would be to not make the mistake, because then you’d go your whole life not knowing if something is a mistake or not. 

Connor was my mistake. I knew from the beginning that things would most likely not end well and I knew that if I let myself trust him, I would probably wind up with a broken heart. I knew that starting things with him again would probably be a mistake, but it was a mistake that I had to make. If I hadn’t, I would still be sitting here wondering if he and I would ever have another chance and I would still be wondering if things could work out between us. And now, even though I can look back and say that it was a mistake, at least I know. At least now I know that Connor and I do not work. At least I know now that we are a mistake. Hopefully I can learn from this mistake and avoid any future heartbreak by him.

Here’s the thing about mistakes. Sometimes, even when you know something’s a mistake, you gotta make it anyway.

One thought on “Sometimes, you gotta make mistakes.

  1. This is so, so true. I’ve had a couple of these in the past – you’d think I’d learn, but apparently not! Sometimes you really have to know for yourself that it’s a mistake.

    Like

Leave a Reply

