Decisions, decisions, decisions…

My best friend is moving to the UK to start her teaching career next week. She has been my best friend since elementary school and we have gone through so much together. We have grown up together and we have grown closer and closer over the years and it brings tears to my eyes just thinking about saying goodbye to her. But seeing her start this next incredible chapter of her life has also made me want to go abroad when I graduate as well.

Next year, I will be applying (and hopefully interviewing) for the occasional/supply teacher lists in the school boards in my area. And I would also love to apply for some international positions, particularly in the UK. But there are just an overwhelming number of factors to consider and I have no idea how to decide what I want to do.

notbigenough

Because of the teaching climate in Ontario, French and Math are the two subjects that are being hired for the most. Next year, there will be about half as many teacher’s college graduates as normal, so there should be more openings available. I will be graduating with a certificate to teach French to students in grades 4-10. I want to take another course as soon as I graduate that would make me eligible to teach grades 11 and 12 as well. I also have the prerequisites to get certified to teach math, and I hope to do that at some point in the near-ish future as well. So, while I don’t have to make a decision quite yet, I do have to start seriously thinking about my options. And because I am the worst decision maker in the whole entire world (or so I’ve been told), I am going to lay it all out here, and hope that something will become clearer for me through the process. If anyone has any advice/opinions/stories/suggestions, I would be more than happy to hear them! Here goes…..

ifitscaresyou

Why should I go abroad? 
– I’ve always wanted to do an exchange or live/study abroad, and this would be a great chance to do it.
– If I want to go abroad, it would make more sense to do it now rather than waiting until I have a house/car/permanent job/husband/family.
– Easy to travel everywhere else that I’ve always wanted to go (Ireland, Scotland, Spain, France, Portugal, Greece, Italy, Belgium, Switzerland, and I could go on and on and on…..)
– Incredible experience.
– Don’t have to decide where I want to live/what board I want to teach with right now (it’s hard to switch between boards here – if I were to move, I would have to start back from the bottom as a supply/contract teacher before finding a permanent position again).

Why should I stay in Ontario?
– All of my friends and family are here.
– It shouldn’t take toooooooo long for me to get a contract position somewhere, thanks to my French teachable and fewer graduates.
– It would be (slightly) less stressful as a first year teacher to be in a place that I’m familiar with.
– Start collecting seniority time/pensionable years and such sooner.
– Teach the curriculum that I have been learning/preparing to teach rather than a new system.
– Avoid homesickness/extra anxiety that come with moving half way across the world.

Either way, next year will require me stepping outside of my comfort zone – taking control of a whole classroom and actually being a teacher will be overwhelming wherever I am. So the question becomes, do I want to step outside of my comfort zone, or do I want to step WAY outside of my comfort zone?   noshortcuts

Leave a Reply

