Goals

Inspired by a recent post by one of my favourite blogs to follow and read (shoutout to Brey at http://ordinaryadventures.co/), I’ve been thinking a lot lately about things I need to work on and what I want to accomplish in the next few months. I’ve never been one for new year’s resolutions, but this is a new school year, and it’s the start of an important one for me – aka my last first day of school (as a student) forever! I’m proud of myself for all of the things that I have worked for and accomplished over the past few years, but I’ve also let some parts of my life slide, and it’s time I take control back. So here are my goals for the next few months, broken down into a variety of categories, and how I plan to reach them.

Fitness Goals
– work out 3-4 times a week. I just cancelled my ClassPass membership which gave me access to all kinds of gyms and studios around me because it was too expensive to keep justifying it in my budget, but I don’t want this to derail my fitness goals. These workouts can be an online workout done at home (just signed up for an online barre3 membership), using a treadmill/bike/elliptical in my building’s gym, or something as simple as a walk around the block. This goal is mostly about keeping active even when I’m not scheduled for classes in a studio.

Mental Health Goals
– practice yoga, meditation and mindfulness regularly. My current goal is to actively practice yoga (either in a studio or at home) once a week, and to complete 3 meditations a week – these can be as short and simple as a 5 minute music meditation, or longer and more intense as I get further into my practice.
– spend less time on facebook/tumblr/netflix and more time doing more fulfilling things that I also enjoy (reading, scrapbooking, cooking, walking, painting my nails, colouring, etc.)

Nutrition Goals
– only eat out once per week
– plan out my meals ahead of time and log them in myfitnesspal
– take my supplements/pills regularly (this can also be filed under mental health)

Apartment Goals
– clean up my dishes after every meal (I have gotten so bad lately about leaving piles of dishes lying around until it gets so messy that I can’t stand it anymore or I run out of utensils).

Leave a Reply

